The Imperial Gunnery Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

International Vintage Star Wars Collector Forum

HomeTIG.comLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Playmospace : Not the droid your looking for....

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
Go to page : 1, 2  Next
AuthorMessage
walkie
Senior Developer
Senior Developer
walkie

Playmospace : Not the droid your looking for.... Empty
PostSubject: Playmospace : Not the droid your looking for....   Playmospace : Not the droid your looking for.... I_icon_minitimeFri May 30, 2014 10:28 am

Playmospace : Not the droid your looking for.... PaeQ2SY
Artwork by Walkie

Introduction

Launched in 1974, Playmobil was created by a German inventor called Hans Beck. Originally a cabinet maker by trade he was approached by Geobra Brandstätte to develop a children's toy. After three years in development Hans Beck created a toy small enough to fit into a child's hand at 7.5cm tall. Thankfully the 1973 oil crisis made it possible for Playmobil to be considered a viable product due to the rising oil prices imposed on geobra Brandstätter who had demanded that the company turn to products that required less plastic material.

The first sets produced by Geobra from their factory in Dietenhofen, Germany featured knights, Indians (Native Americans) and construction workers, with the first shipments stocking the shelves of toy stores in Germany and Benelux. The space playsets or 'Playmospace' as they are known followed several years later in 1981. Having recently celebrated their 40th anniversary in January 2014 Playmobil has become a successful toy line and a major competitor to Lego.