The Imperial Gunnery Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

International Vintage Star Wars Collector Forum

HomeTIG.comLatest imagesSearchRegisterLog in

Buying full collections

View previous topic View next topic Go down 
AuthorMessage
ImperialDjo
Imperial Recruit
Imperial Recruit
ImperialDjo

Buying full collections Empty
PostSubject: Buying full collections   Buying full collections I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 03, 2015 5:55 am

Hi guys,

I'd love to hear your thoughts about buying full collections (for example all of ESB, complete w/ weapons and accessories, or all of POF, etc...) instead of tracking down figurines and accessories individually.

As I'm just starting out my collection, I first bought individual figurines off eBay and other sites, and then I came across a complete ROTJ set, supposed to be with original weapons. Although it was quite an investment, the total price came down to approx 10€ per figurine w/ shipping, which is my self-imposed upper limit for the moment (well, I already made some exceptions at Brians Toys :opps: ).

So I ordered this collection on an impulse, thinking it would be a great way to kickstart my collection and let me focus on SW and ESB lines.

But on a second thought I felt it was "too easy". I know it's a fact of life, but after all I don't find it satisfying to just "buy a collection" like this. I like better the idea of tracking down individual figurines, maybe trying to get their original weapon back afterward, and complete the set myself.

Maybe it's a newbie collector stuff and reality will catch up with me at some point (collections probably are better value in the long run, or easier, or whatever). But I sure would love to hear your thoughts about it !

Djo.
Back to top Go down
walkie
Senior Developer
Senior Developer
walkie

PostSubject: Re: Buying full collections   Buying full collections I_icon_minitimeTue Feb 03, 2015 6:36 am